Dirt

I’ve been searching for something. It lives in the dirt, or maybe it grows from the dirt, or perhaps dirt is just part of the element that I’m looking for.

Dirt: n.

  1. Earth or soil.
  2. Filthy or soiling substance.
  3. Mud, Dust. Excrement.
  4. Squalid or filthy condition.
  5. One that is mean, contemptible, or vile.
  6. Obscene language or subject matter.
  7. Malicious or scandalous gossip.
  8. Information that embarrasses or accuses.
  9. Unethical behavior or practices; corruption.
  10. Material, such as gravel or slap, from which metal is extracted in mining.

I’m only seeking as it pertains to number one. And I’m perplexed that two through seven seem to have a negative tone. I think of dirt fondly. I adore how it crawls under my fingernails, makes its way to my cheeks and hair; how it stains my dresses and squishes underfoot. How is that squalid, or filthy, or obscene? My favorite state is dirty, windswept, and sunburned. That’s when I feel the most whole.

3 thoughts on “Dirt

  1. Are you back???

    Dirt is awesome. It helps to feed my veggies and flowers. Not a huge fan of it under my nails though.

  2. My garden is so sad this year. 😦 the spring was too cold & too late; not enough rain (& I’m a lazy water-er); the tomatoes are so late, the powdery mildew is getting my squash & cukes. *sigh* I am already plotting for next year!

Leave a comment